Whole30 Day 7 + First Long Run of Marathon Training

It’s the end of week 1! Woohoo!!

So last night I stayed up way too late watching the Patriots win! and the US Figure Skating Nationals even though I knew I had to be up at 6am to prepare for today’s long run. So I got 6 hours of sleep. But they were 6 solid hours. Best I’ve had all week. And I’m going to bed at like 8pm tonight to make up for it.

Anyway … I got up at 6am and got ready, drank my coffee and headed out at 6:30 to meet a friend at their house. I ate an egg muffin before I left and then a sweet potato and some dates on the drive over. I also had the clementine right before running. As well as 1 part coconut water to 3 parts water before.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThere was a huge group of runners today. It was the first long run of Boston training for the club I just joined. We ran 10 miles, nice and easy. I ran with my friend and while it was in the 40s, it was windy! We did make a wrong turn once but that was it. There were 2 water stations set up on the training run with water, gatorade, candy and gels. I only had water and I brought 2 pieces of dried mango and 3 dates with me too that I grazed on throughout the 10 miles.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI normally would just need water for a 10 miler if I’d been training consistently but I’m just now building up mileage again, so I brought them in case and I was grateful. My legs were a little heavy and sluggish but I expected that from what I read on the Whole30 forums. Overall, I felt pretty decent.

We got back to the clubhouse and they had a breakfast spread out – all of which I could not eat. Oh well, I had a sweet potato and a piece of chicken with me to eat and then I grabbed tea

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI came home and took a short nap before doing some cleaning. Then I made chili, chicken & vegetable soup and egg muffins for the week. Now it’s up to David to do the dishes and put them away. I had some chicken and green beans around 3pm

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnd then dinner around 6pm – chocolate chili – a little too liquidy this week since I used the crockpot. But still good.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHad a handful of pistachios after dinner and now just relaxing. We have chicken, chicken & vegetable soup, chili, egg muffins and coleslaw prepared for the week. Feeling pretty good. I do need to do some reflecting on my three goals from the start in tomorrow’s blog.

 

Leave a comment